Former Spratt staffer to challenge Mulvaney for U.S. House seat

-A A +A

Filing wrapped up last week for June primaries

By Jesef Williams

A woman familiar with congressional politics will challenge U.S. House Rep. Mick Mulvaney for the District 5 seat – one of several races office seekers filed for over the past few weeks.
Joyce Knott, a Rock Hill businesswoman who once worked on the campaign staff of former U.S. Rep. John Spratt, has filed to run as a Democrat for that same seat in the June primary.
That will presumably pit her against Mulvaney, the incumbent Republican, in November’s general election. They were the only people to file for the seat in their parties.
The primary filing period ran from March 16 to Friday, March 30. Both parties will hold primaries June 12.
Contested primary races
For Lancaster County voters, the party primaries in June will feature five contested races.
Republicans Brian Carnes and Jerry Holt face one another for the nomination in the District 7 Lancaster County Council seat, which now covers northern Indian Land.
The Republican Party primary for the Lancaster County Council District 3 seat features
Bob Bundy and Wayne Kersey.
Citing health reasons, District 3 incumbent Councilman Dennis “Cotton” Cole recently announced he would not seek re-election to a second term.
Attorneys Bob Cook and Mandy Powers Norrell are vying as Democrats for the S.C. House District 44 seat, which is mostly comprised of Lancaster County.
Ryan Payne and Heath Springs businessman Joseph Coy will vy for the Republican nod for the same state seat.

Redistricting this year means House District 53 will cover a small part of the county. Incumbent Democrat Ted Vick will face Phillip Powell in the June primary for the District 53 seat. The winner will face Republican Richie Yow in November.
Other contested races
These local races feature candidates with opposition in the November general election, but no primary opposition:
Lancaster County Sheriff Barry Faile, a Democrat, will face Republican challenger Scott Case.
In County Council District 5, incumbent Democrat Kathy Sistare will face Republican Steve Harper.
Local uncontested races
Uncontested local races and their candidates are County Council District 1, Larry McCullough (incumbent); county auditor, Cheryl Morgan (incumbent); clerk of court, Jeff Hammond (incumbent); coroner, Mike Morris (incumbent); and treasurer, Carrie Helms. Helms was appointed to fill the unexpired term of the late Dick Rowell, who died in January 2011.
Other uncontested races and their candidates include S.C. House 45 seat, Deborah Long (incumbent), and District 65, Jay Lucas (incumbent), as well as S.C. Senate District 16, Greg Gregory (incumbent).
Indian Land and Van Wyck voters will only vote in the U.S. House District 5 race, S.C. House District 45 race, Lancaster County Council Districts 1 and 7, and for the Lancaster County offices of auditor, clerk of court, coroner, sheriff and treasurer.
Gil Small, chairman of the Lancaster County Democratic Party, looks forward to the primaries and the ensuing general election in November.He speaks highly of the unopposed county candidates, many of whom are Democrats.
“They do a good job for Lancaster County,” Small said. “When it come to partisanship, that’s not what they care about.”
Sandy McGarry, chairwoman of the county’s Republican Party, said she’s excited about the field of local GOP candidates.
“I say we stand very, very well,” McGarry said. “It’s going to be a great race.”
School board filing in August
The June primaries won’t include county school board seats, which are nonpartisan.Candidates will file for those seats in August.

Who filed for seats in primaries

Here’s a rundown of who filed for county, state and federal seats:  

* denotes incumbent
• Auditor – *Cheryl Morgan – D
• Clerk of Court – *Jeff Hammond – D
• Coroner – *Mike Morris – D
• Sheriff – *Barry Faile – D, Scott Case – R
• Treasurer – *Carrie Helms – R
• Lancaster County Council
- District 1 – *Larry McCullough – R
- District 3 – Bob Bundy – R, Wayne Kersey – R
- District 5 – *Kathy Sistare – D, Steve Harper – R
- District 7 – Brian Carnes – R, Jerry Holt – R
• S.C. House 44 – Bob Cook – D, Mandy Powers Norrell – D, Joseph Coy – R, Ryan Payne - R
• S.C. House 45 – *Deborah Long – R

• S.C. House 53 – *Ted Vick – D, Phillip Powell - D, Richie Yow - R
• S.C. House 65 – *Jay Lucas – R
• S.C. Senate 16 – *Greg Gregory – R
• U.S. House District 5 – Joyce Knott – D, *Mick Mulvaney – R